Sanskrit

A place to engage extended discussions of things that come up on the ttbrown.com website. Anything goes here, as long as it's somehow pertinent to the subject(s) at hand.
LongboardLOVELY
Junior Birdman

Sanskrit

Post by LongboardLOVELY »

I propose that Paul puts all the various forum discussions about Sanskrit under this heading. And if/when he does, I will respond to Mr. Twigsnapper's discussion questions about Mandarin Chinese, Mandari (or Menderi as I have seen it) and the history and uses of Sanskrit between the great Wars.

Linda B.
Trickfox
The Magician

basic ideas

Post by Trickfox »

Linda
I am a complete newbie when it comes to acient languages but I need an idea of the basics.
Does it read downwards like oriental or from right to the left (as in Hebrew etc?
Is it composed of several dozen pictograms?

Is there a common thread in these pictograms between Menderi and Sanskrit?

Where can I obtain a primer?

Trickfox
The psychopropulsier (as pointed out in the book The Good-bye man by Linda Brown and Jan Lofton) is a Quantum entanglement project under development using Quantum Junctions. Join us at http://www.Peeteelab.com
Paul S.
Sr. Rabbit Chaser

Follow The Yellow Brick Road

Post by Paul S. »

LBolland wrote:I propose that Paul puts all the various forum discussions about Sanskrit under this heading. And if/when he does, I will respond to Mr. Twigsnapper's discussion questions about Mandarin Chinese, Mandari (or Menderi as I have seen it) and the history and uses of Sanskrit between the great Wars.
PHPBBS (the software platform that runs these forums) doesn't give me the ability to move individual posts from one topic to another. So here are links to the places where the word "sanskrit" appears in previous posts throught the site. If somebody spelled it differently, I couldn't find those posts using the search function.

Here then are previous references to Sanskrit, in approximate chronological order:

viewtopic.php?p=299#299